Skip to content

SITE 2014

Each year since 1969 Stanford University has hosted a series of summer workshops in economic theory, mathematical economics, and related topics. From 1969 to 1988, the program was organized by the Economics Section of the Institute for Mathematical Studies in the Social Sciences (IMSSS), headed by Mordecai Kurz. In 1989 this program was reorganized and re-assigned to the newly created Stanford Institute for Theoretical Economics (SITE). Past directors of SITE have been Paul Milgrom, Kenneth Arrow, Peter Hammond, Thomas Sargent, B. Douglas Bernheim, Ilya Segal, Matt Jackson and Kyle Bagwell of the Economics Department, along with Robert Wilson of the Graduate School of Business and Kenneth Judd of the Hoover Institution. The current director is Avner Greif.
Each workshop session combines leading senior researchers in a specific area, together with younger economists who would clearly benefit from attending. We make a special effort to identify those younger economists and offer additional assistance for them to attend. The individual session of the Summer Workshops are managed and organized in a decentralized fashion by separate small groups of economists and other academics associated with SITE, along with selected senior collaborators from outside Stanford.
Stanford University, Department of Economics